What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Aphids!!!

growergray

Just a guy
So after an uneventful year last year, I didn't know how scary this could be.

I wandered outside yesterday to take a peek at my minibogs and noticed that my Alata seems to have slowed down in growth. I looked closer and the newer leaves were CRAWLING with tiny green creatures:0o: . I really almost got nauseous.

So, time to bust out the big guns. The Savage Garden says Orthene is the best option. We have some Sevin Dust, but I have no idea if that's safe for CPs. This is my first time with Aphids and any help would be appreciated.

As I said I've got two minibogs and I'd like to prevent spreading to my others Sarrcs, VFTs, and drosera.

Systemic insecticides like Acephate (Orthene) or Imidacloprid (Merit) are best. Non-systemics that work well with CPs include Malathion, Pyrethrin and Neem Oil. Avoid soap and oil based products or anything with petroleum distillates - Neem Oil being an exception.

Sprays or soil drench are preferable over dust. I would not dust Drosera. Your Drosera present a problem as they often react adversely to sprays. A few TF members use Neem Oil sprays on Drosera with no ill effects but remember you have to "spray until runoff" which means washing off the mucilage dew and leaving the plant defenseless until it can produce more mucilage (if ever). Soil drench would work best with Drosera although I've spray just the crown of Drosera filiformis with a systemic to get rid of aphids.

Treat all your plants. The systemic will protect the uninfested plants and take care of any unoticed bugs. Repeat as directed on the minimum recommended interval on the infested plants and on the maximum interval for the uninfested ones.