What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pot Color

I might as well use this as an opportunity to introduce myself.
Hello my name is Greg and I live in Texas. I'm also fairly new to carnivorous plants.

Anyways, I have a sarrencia purpera (purple pitcher) I need to pot, and am wondering about the pot color, which is black, will have an effect on the plant? Due to the pots color would it make it too hot and possibly damage the plant? This question may seem foolish, but I tend to worry about minor stuff like this lol.
Thanks =)

Once again hello to everyone.

Welcome. If the pot is black then it would absorb light or something, and if it's white it reflects it. Lucky, I can't find any S. Purpurea lol.

Hi, Greg! Welcome to TF! Sarracenias like heat, so pot color might not really matter. If you want to use a different colored pot, you can just incase. I have very dark green pots for my Sarracenias and they don't seem to be affected by it. Do you know if it is S. purpureas ssp purpurea or S. purpurea ssp venosa?

Its Sarracenia purpurea, yeah thats me being lazy and not wanting to look it up. Thanks for the answers btw. I was just concerned that it might overheat the soil.

Thanks again.

Oh this is kind of a side question, but are clay pots bad for carnivorous plants because of the salts, and if it's bad is it life threatening and worth a re-pot.

I'm not sure about that. I've never used clay pots. It probably won't overheat because my Sarracenias ar in heat in the 90s and being waterlogged, the soil is never hot.

yes they're bad.