What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Need Help With My Heliamphora

I am growing a Heli in my bathroom under a light. My problem is that the tops of the pitchers keep turning brown. What do I need to do to solve this problem?

Can you show us pictures of the plants and the surrounding environment?

From what I read, the difficulty with Heliamphora is that they need to be kept very humid and sunny, but in a very cool place.

I'm no heli expert but,

Are they burned brown? Are they just old pitchers? Is there very low humidity?

What are your growing conditions? If it is new, it could be going through the shock of new conditions.

Have the roots been damaged?

What do your new pitchers look like?

I am growing a Heli in my bathroom under a light. My problem is that the tops of the pitchers keep turning brown. What do I need to do to solve this problem?

I would have to agree with some of the others and suggest it's most likely a humidity issue. One of the challenges in growing Heliamphora is providing the brightest light source possible for proper leaf formation, moderate to low Tbs (especially at night), and high humidity. Providing all three simultaneously can pose a challenge . . .

Aside from the plant being in a bathroom under lights, what are the other growing conditions? Some are under the mistaken notion that it is generally humid enough in bathrooms or that they are prime growing places . . .

You have to have a continuous source of himidity not only when you're taking a shower....if i will ever going to try to grow there plants i would set up a terrarium with some air humidifiers....they provide the humidity and they do a bit of cooling too.