What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New S. minor forms?

Hello Friends,

I'm pleased to introduce two forms of Sarracenia minor that I've been observing and working with for several years. These two distinct colonies are extremely isolated from each other, (42 miles apart) and are over three hundred miles away from any other Sarracenia species, making them an excellent study subject as far as purest species genetics is concerned.

The following examples have been in my cultivation for over three years in identical conditions and growing media. So far, traits have remained consistent. Let's start with a delightful "miniature" that I lovingly call "Jimmy Durante" :)

Note the extended snout-like lid that's relative to the Okefenokee form of S. minor. However, the plant 'in situ' and in cultivation never exceeds 20 cm tall plus the lids never fully become bronzed. Plus, they always retain their maroon- veined patterns on the lids;

679751528_hkV5G-XL.jpg

679751560_XNZGR-XL.jpg

Next is another personal favorite from the second location, which I simply call "Ball-cap" :)

The rounded, flared lid is a definite eye-catcher, plus the pitchers have a lovely habit of extending the aereolae around to the sides and front of the pitcher as well;

679751462_Js5PE-XL.jpg

679751498_5yqL7-XL.jpg

Enjoy and Happy Growing,

Brian.

I like S. minor "Seminole Co. ball-cap form-rounded flared lid, extended aereolae to the front"!

:-))

Great job, Brian, they look unique to me!

wow! Those are very beautiful! I love the second one, and I would also love to have that minature one someday! Very ncie, thanks for sharing.