What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

my ceph leaf propagation " Results"

uphwiz

jimmy
This has been my first attempt at this , but one out of nine, is OK with me.
I'm still learning , I had asked a few questions here, and started before I had gotten more than a few answer's, I know I should have been a little more patient:-(, once I had had them settled in for a week or two, I checked back and saw the better way would have probably been to have wrapped each leaf in a little live sphag, then into the media I was going to use, but I just let them go, and lost all , very slowly, weeks and weeks went by and one by one they all dried up, ultra slowly, all but this one,
and today when I had given up , and was about to pull out the leaf and let the cappensis have the pot, I saw this, its a shallow victory , but its MINE.:rookwoot:
the first pic is of the leaves soaking in a little water and superthrive Dec,29th,did this for 24 hours, before sticking them in my regular ceph mix, i was just buying mine ready made then.
the other two pics are of the only one left today July 14th
click on pictures to see up close and again for real close ups.

Congrats! Hey, that's 30 bucks-worth right there.

Way to go Jimmy!!

It's aggravating to watch cuttings slowly croak. Live LFS helps, but they still sometimes just waste away.

I had stratified seeds last fall from a regular ceph and a hummer's giant that had flowered last summer. None of the ceph seeds ever sprouted, but I had about 7 of the seeds from the hummer sprout. Now I'm down to 2 seedlings and they are very tiny. It will be interesting to see what they eventually do in years to come if I can keep them alive!

WildBill