What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Too cold outside for dormancy

Hey, just a week ago i decided to become an owner of a sarracenia purp. var. venosa (i think),but it's a bit too cold outside to prepare it for dormancy. With temps dropping down too -15 degrees C (5 degrees F) at night i'm concerned. I would use the fridge method but i never tried it. Is it a good idea? (obviously there won't be much light in there)

Where are you located?

From what I hear they don't need light during dormancy. Just as long as they don't freeze solid, they're good. I'm no pro when it comes to sarrs, but it's to my understanding that you just cut off the traps and stick the pot in the fridge until spring.

do you have a garage or a 3-season porch or something like that?

Also, remember that S. purpurea is very hardy. Mine froze at least once for a day or two last year and grew very well this year. Mass's method works pretty well, just check it about once a week for fungus.