What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cephalotus rhizome cuttings

Cindy

Staff member
The rhizome belonged to one of the plants that arrived recently. It was examined so thoroughly that most of the fine roots came off. So, I thought it would make the perfect specimen to take cuttings from. :-O

cephalotus_rhizome.jpg

cephalotus_rhizome1.jpg

The seller suggested that it can be cut up into 5 pieces but I decided on 4 instead because I am no expert in rhizome cuttings.

cephalotus_rhizome_cuttings.jpg

cephalotus_rhizome_cutting1.jpg

cephalotus_rhizome_cutting2.jpg

cephalotus_rhizome_cutting3.jpg

cephalotus_rhizome_cutting4.jpg

Interestingly, the core of the rhizome becomes greener closer to the growth point.

cephalotus_rhizome_cutting_core.jpg

cephalotus_rhizome_cutting_core2.jpg

cephalotus_rhizome_cutting_core3.jpg

Current home until the cuttings are ready to be potted up. :jester:

cephalotus_rhizome_cuttings2.jpg

cephalotus_rhizome_cuttings3.jpg

Awesome! Hope they do well for you. Thanks for posting the pics, I've never seen rhizome cuttings from a ceph before.

Very nice! I hope they make plants for you!

I have never seen anything like this up close and in pictures either, so thanks a lot! Really cool!

Very cool. The Sphagnum looks nice and fluffy

I didn't know you could do that. Do you add any chemicals to help them along?

The recommendations I read in old issues of CPN was to allow a callus to form on the cuttings before placing them in media for best results.

After 8 days. :boogie:

cephalotus_rhizome_cutting1_241111.jpg

cephalotus_rhizome_cutting2_241111.jpg

cephalotus_rhizome_cutting3_241111.jpg

cephalotus_rhizome_cutting4_241111.jpg