What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

My Darlingtonia Experience (Thus Far)

CorneliusSchrute

A leuco by any other name would still be as glutto
I have been growing Darlingtonia for several months now, and they seem to be doing well. I have a thread on a different forum updating my experiences. Here is a link to that thread for those interested.

To summarize, our summers here are hot, and I figured Darlingtonia would not thrive. To overcome this, I built a recirculating setup with a cooler, a fountain pump, and some tubing. I do not chill the water, though. I personally subscribe to the idea that it is not the water temperture but the oxygenated water that keeps cobra lilies happy; evidently my setup oxygenates the water enough without cooling.

Anyway, I say all that just for an excuse to post a picture or two. This one is of my setup today. The red plant was my first one and is descended from the Del Norte county population; it came from Mike Wang. The green one is a more recent acquisition from Brie, and it is from the Siskiyou Mountain populations.

48a5eecb14e69a63187cdf13dd8b20ab_zpsed1c418e.jpg

I will try to post some updates every so often. Thanks for looking!

I love the red one ! I think its quite hard to find !

Fingers crossed that I don't kill it then, for sure! :S;)

It's about time you updated these Corey :D