What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cephalotus seeding color?

Cephalotus seedling color?

Hello, I have been growing these little guys for about 6 months. I got them as seedlings. Some are supposed to be seedlings of Hummer's Giant and some were labeled "Black Form". It's my first time growing Ceph seedlings, and wanted to know if their color looked normal?

I water them from above. They are planted in typical peat and sand. The temps never go above 80 degrees and may 70 at night. I used some compact growing sphagnum moss on top to help with humidity. They
seem to really like it, I think the competition made them grow faster. I would appreciate any advice.

attachment.php

attachment.php
attachment.php

attachment.php
attachment.php

attachment.php
attachment.php

Last edited:
Now, there's a drool-worthy set of plants. I have a 'Hummer's Giant' that would be a match for the plants in the second photo in both color and size.

Thanks bluemax, So their color is typical for 'HG' seedlings. That's good to know. The row of clear pots are the 'HG's the short pots are the 'Black Form'

Ceph coloration is a bit of a three sided sword. Light color/intensity/clone all play a very large part in it. There are another hundred factors that have been debated that may or may not effect coloration.

Basically...there is not a typical color for a HG. I have identical clones growing in the same medium, watered from the same water, under the same lights, right next to each other and they are different shades. I know they are the same clone since I grew them up from leaf pulls from the same plant.