What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pacific northwest plants

• Thread starter FinnishKid
  • Start date
Hello All
I am new to growing CP's. I've got a few from petflytrap.com and am looking forward to new things.
Does anyone know of any pitcher plants that are native to the Pacific Northwest? I'm interested in finding one that could be left outdoors year round.
I'm looking around nurseries and in books, but I thought I'd ask here as well.
Thanks,
Holden

CPs native to the Pacific Northwest would be D. rotundifolia, D. anglica, P. macroceras, P. vulgaris, U. gibba, U. intermedia, U. macrorhiza, U. minor, U. ochroleuca. The only pitcher plant native to the Pacific Northwest is Darlingtonia, which is found in northern California and southwestern Oregon.

However, if your question is what pitcher plants can be cultivated outdoors in the Pacific Northwest, Sarracenia purpurea grows in the severe winter climate of eastern Canada. Most of the Sarracenia species can be grown outdoors in the relatively mild climate of the coastal Pacific Northwest.

-Bob Ziemer-
http://www.humboldt.edu/~rrz7001/

im curious, were in the Pacific Northwest do you live, and Bob, do you know where i can go see P.Vulgaris in the wild in Washingon, or any cp? I want to take pics!
                         Kevin

finnishkid, I live in western Oregon and I grow all eight species of Sarracenias and venus flytraps outdoors, they do great. Jack

Thanks guys for your replies! I'm interested in both plants that are native and plants that will survive year round here. I'm in Seattle. I've made notes from your advice and I'm going to check into them. Thanks!! I keep finding more and more answers surfing around the net, too. So much to learn....