What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ceph too cold?

I've had my ceph since early July and I'm keeping it in with my highland nepenthes so it goes from 75-85* daytime to 50* at night with an aproximate humidity of 80%. I will be getting a humidistat to plug my humidifier into in a few days so I will "know" it's 80% but I'm wondering if I should move the plant to a warmer location because I haven't seen any growth on it yet. Is it still in shipping shock?

The plants current care: it's about 2-3" in size but potted into a 10" plastic pot of LFS, pearlite and sphag peat. Gets only R/O water and living under Compact Flourescent lights.

Hey swords,
I'm no ceph expert but I have ceph of the same size and almost same conditions - except at night mine don't get below 60 degrees. After repotting mine took about one month to show any growth. Hope that helps!

Maybe FB can give you a better idea of what conditions are like in it's natural habitat. Mine are just out in the Ghouse where it can be anywhere from 80-90 during the day and 52 -65 at night, depending on how cool it is outside.

Winter time they don't get nearly as warm.

Could be that it is still settling in from shipping/transplanting. Could be that with the cooler temps it just is growing slower and hasn't produced any noticable growth yet.
Cephs have a tendancy to grow in spurts. Most of their trapping leaves are made and matured by summer. Come fall they will put up the flat leaves. Growth inbetween these fall and spring flushes is sporadic.
Tony

The plant is probably just adjusting to its new environment after repotting. It took my cephs 2 or so months before it started growing.

Whoa! My highland tank dropped 45*F last night!