What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pitcher Plants...

Hi,
I am new to the fourms and I have been trying to grow carnivorous plants for a while, but I just cant seem to keep them alive no matter how hard I try. If any one has any tips please tell me.
Also I live on the coast of California and and I was wondering if I could keep Pitcher Plants out side. During the day the temp. is usualy (on a sunny day) about 75-85 degrees and on a foggy day 60-70* F. The humidity stays at about 60-80%. During the night during summer its about 60*, and during the winter it drops to about 40-50*f. Do you think that I could grow them out side?
Any help greatly apreciated,
Thanks
Aaron

Your temperatures are fine for growing Sarracenia outdoors. The only Sarracenia that may not like your conditions is Sarracenia purpurea ssp. purpurea as it requires temperatures below 35° F (many times below 0°F here in Ohio) to survive during the winter.

welcome!
The coast of california is the best part of the country for growing cps. I'm guessing the main reason you are having problems growing them is that you are using tap water. use distilled/bottled/spring water, anything without minerals!
smile.gif