What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pitcher plant help

Hello,

I'm relatively new to the carnivorous plant world. I just bought a pitcher plant at a local grocery store that looks very healthy and hopefully, with some help from the forum, it will stay that way.

I know this plant likes full sun or bright light. Does it have a humidity requirement? What about watering (I read that they like to be constantly wet....does this mean I can let the pot stand in shallow water?). Lastly, since it will be kept indoors, can it be fed fertilizer?.....add fertilizer to soil or spray on pitchers?

Thanks for your time!
smile.gif

sounds like you pretty much know already! lots of sun, yes, you can keep the pot sitting in a tray of water. i'm not sure what your situation is, but Sarracenia are truly happiest if kept outside, at least for the summer. you can fertilize with a very dilute fertilizer, best applied directly to the leaves. catching a bug here and there can take the place of fertilizing it. the main requirements are the sun and water. especially during summer, i would say they need at least 4 hours of sun, just to grow. at least 6 hrs a day if you want full coloration to develop. they don't necessarily have to be waterlogged all the time, but at least stay damp, during summer. make sure the water is relatively pure, either rain water, distilled or r.o.water works great. tap water varies by location. they do need a dormant period in the winter. less sun, less wet, cooler temps. freezing temps aren't necessary, but they don't really hurt either. good luck.

sarracenia is right (he usually is) lots of sun, outside is best, and keep watered, the last step is just to sit back and watch and enjoy