What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cephalotus - seasonal casualties

Greetings:

I have been growing Cephalotus outside here in Guatemala for about 5 years. While I have managed to grow them well to a certain size (rosettes about 20 cm across), each year about this time (during the lull in the rainy season), I ALWAYS lose my biggest plants to what I presume is a root fungus. My plants are grown in full sunshine in NZ sphagnum, get RO water, and receive prophylactic, systemic + contact fungicidal sprays every month or so. Last year this plague took out a whole pot filled with seedlings from '02, this past weekend its attacked my largest plant. I pulled the whole mess apart, discarded the limp and discolored portions, and threw the rest into a 30 min Physan dip. Placed the whole lot in a sealed plastic container with some damp sphagnum and found that the next day all the stems had scads of 8-10 mm long fungal hypha emerging from the rootstock. I initially thought that this might be the Trichoderma (RootShield) that I innoculate the medium with every once in a while, but I now suspect that it's the pathogen that's killing my plants.

So much for the efficacy of Physan...

I know that Cephs are infamous for succumbing precisely this "sudden-death" syndrome, but someone has to have licked it.

Any thoughts and/or recommendations?

TIA/SJ

try trichoderma. if i ever get around to it, i'm going to order some for myself.

during the rainy season, dry growing them somewhere where conditions are similar to the "dry" season. just an idea

biggrin.gif

Ummm.he already uses Trichoderma.:p

oh i'm so dumb! i didn't see that lol!