What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Heli rot!

Hi
I have been growing Heli for about 15 years now.
But this year for the first time I have had a number of younger plants suddenly die from rot!
The pitchers suddenly shrivel and the base of the growing point where it is attached to the lower root stem is brown and rotten. But the rest of the stem below that point and the roots themselves are not rotten. So the problem is in the middle of the plant as it were.
The compost is a mixture of LFS and Seramis and has good drainage. I water the plants from above like my neps. And they are in the highland neps house.

Any ideas?

cheers

bill

Hmmm... I'm not sure what to do. Maybe a systemic antibiotic? I haven't had this problem before, but i'll look in to it and get back to you later.
smile.gif

Bill,

the cause for the sudden death might be a fungal infection of the plants affected. Especially cuttings, where the fungus can enter through the wounds below the soil, and young plants are normally affected during hot summers. Another reason might be that they stood to weet. The roots easily rot when water logged.

According to an old post in the GFP-forum Andreas is using Euparen when plants are affected. Side effects are some deformed leafes.

Joachim

I myself have had a terrible time with trying to grow Helis, 0 for 2. I believe my problem is that I plant the crown to deep and keep it too wet.
If I get to try another one, I will make sure the crown is above the soil by using LFS to allow more air to reach the crown and keep it drier.

I just had a heli shipped to me by a relative. They sent it in an envelope in a ball of peat moss. Needless to say it came in a "jelly-like form".