What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Reptiles of UNC

Started just recently helping take care of animals at the university I'm studying at. I'm not at the stage where I can help handle the venomous ones, but I'm still in the room, so got some pics of some interesting animals:
Spotted Night snake-Hypsiglena torquata by Hawken Carlton, on Flickr
Spotted Night snake-Hypsiglena torquata by Hawken Carlton, on Flickr
Heterodon nasicus nasicus by Hawken Carlton, on Flickr
Mojave x Prairie Rattlesnake-Crotalus scutulatus x v. viridis by Hawken Carlton, on Flickr
These guys are glossy black, and look a lot like indigo snakes. Just more dangerous....
Mussurana-Clelia ssp. by Hawken Carlton, on Flickr
This guy was grumping about my presence the whole time we were there
Prairie Rattlesnake-Crotalus viridis viridis by Hawken Carlton, on Flickr
Sonoran Lyre snake-Trimorphodon bisctatus by Hawken Carlton, on Flickr
Mojave rattlesnake-Crotalus scutulatus by Hawken Carlton, on Flickr
Southwestern speckled rattlesnake-Crotalus mitchellii pyrrhus by Hawken Carlton, on Flickr
Big Bend/Trans pecos copperhead-Agkistrodon contortrix pictigaster by Hawken Carlton, on Flickr
Tiger rattelsnake-Crotalus tigris by Hawken Carlton, on Flickr
Asian vine snake-Ahaetulla ssp. by Hawken Carlton, on Flickr
Banded Rock rattlesnake-Crotalus lepidus klauberi by Hawken Carlton, on Flickr
The Cal king was at least 5 feet long, weighed a couple pounds. Luckily, also a rather calm animal
California kingsnake-Lampropeltis getula californiae by Hawken Carlton, on Flickr
By contrast, this Florida king had an attitude, and is apparently well known for it
Florida kingsnake-Lampropeltis getula floridana by Hawken Carlton, on Flickr
The Sonoran was another calm one