What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ive got several droseras and im pretty new to growing them. Ive been keeping them in a terrarium under a light in a 78-82 degree room and they did seem to be doing pretty well. What I have is d. capensis, d. adelae, d. burmannii, d. madagascariensis, and d. binata. The binata and capensis and the madagascariensis looked like it was doing very good, putting up new leaves and everything but the ends of the old leaves and the the new ones are dying off. The adelae is doing the best out of them all, seems to be growing fast. Is there somewhere else I can grow the ones that are not doing too well, maybe a windowsill? Would any of these grow outside year round here in east TN, zone 7?

What sort of light do you have in your terrarium?

xvart.

Low humidity maybe?

They all are in a tray of water. The terrarium is on its side and the side is covered with saran wrap with only about an inch of space to allow for air. Should I cover the whole opening, would it help?

What sort of light do you have in your terrarium?

xvart.

Its an extra aquarium light I had laying around.

Last edited by a moderator:
covered with saran wrap with only about an inch of space to allow for air.

Might want to make it bigger. A thing they need is air circulation, especially Nepenthes (if you ever grow them).

Might want to make it bigger. A thing they need is air circulation, especially Nepenthes (if you ever grow them).

Thats the only thing I changed, the old cover had more space to allow for air but didnt stay on so I put more on. Ill try and open it up a bit more. My Nepenthes are next to a huge window and seem to be doing very well, had my first new pitcher open up yesterday.