What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tuberous Dormancy...

kath

Katherine
Hi.
This is my first year growing tuberous sundews, and I started with a pot with 2 D. Auriculata in it. They grew fine, died off, went dormant - but they've been dormant for over a month now and I wasn't aware that you were supposed to protect them from dryness and the sun - so I left them out on the windowsill... and there soil looks pretty dry now! Tomorrow I'm planning on putting them in a bag and transferring them to a warm but darker spot and putting them in a humid zip-lock - but is it too late for this? I am wondering if I may have already killed them - and I was thinking if I put them in darker place with more moisture/humidity they might think it's winter and start growing again if they are alive?
What should I do?
And also, would it be fine to sprinkle my other tuberous sundew seeds (D. Auriculata 'hamilton' and D. Peltata) in the same pot, in different corners? Would this work?

I think the main thing is not letting the pots overheat in the sun and cooking the tubers. Some people just move the pots into a shady area and don't water them until growth resumes.

The only way to find out is to move them bagged or otherwise and see if they come back to life in the fall.

No reason why you couldn't seed the pot with other species or varieties just so long as you are willing to take the risk of forgetting or confusing which plants are which.

I have allowed pots to turn into bricks and still had plants pull through. They prefer to be treated a little less roughly but they can survive.