What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Yet another sundew screwed!

Hi it's been a while since I've posted anything. But my (i'm guessing 7th so far) sundew is trouble. I saw this shiny silver larvae in the peat. I don't know what it's called (im a newbie), but i pretty sure it chomps up the roots. When I saw this I started weeping like a baby 'cause the other sundews died shortly after i saw 'em. I feel so helpless :-(. If this killed the other sundews I had I want revenge! So any suggestions what it might be and how to destroy this :censor:? Pretty pretty please with 100 cherries on top?
Extra info: I've been recently seeing these small black flying insects the size of fruit flies around pots of other plants. Again if this is something obvious I'm sorry for my lack of knowledge, I am a beginner.

Waterkirby would tell you to "kill them with fire"

Probably fungus gnat larvae. Try Bti (Bacillus thuringiensis israelensis). You can find it readily in the US sold as "Mosquito Dunks". Break off a small chunk and float it in your trays or put it in a container of water overnight and water your plants with that. Being a biological control at takes time to work - affects larvae only so you have to treat active infestations long enough to get 4 generations of the fungus gnats - 4 to 6 weeks.

Tis true, but if your Dundee is old enough, they shall be its next meal. So just ignore em for now. if you see a bunch of em,take out your plant, wash it the roots. Take the soil and use the microwaves to make them die by fire,then repot. But its just better to top your soil with sand if you're worried.

Edit:eek:r take his advice.