What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Germinating Drosera regia, mark II: "The reckoning"

Hello from the Great White North...

I've just received about 100 D. regia seeds from a supplier in SA (rhymes with GilverMill) and assuming they are indeed viable, this will be the second time for me germinating D. regia..

If I am successful germinating, the majority of the plants will (hopefully) be employed in some kind of propagation network...

Anyways, here is the preamble...

Probably about two Januaries ago, some D. regia seeds became available in the ICPS seedbank. Now, I had been growing CP's for about 6 months at that time, and I had never germinated any seeds before. So, I got some regia seeds, along with some others.

Now, I was very lucky, and 1 of the twenty five seeds survived to become about five inches tall. Sadly, I lost it this summer, because I put a frozen water bottle too close to its pot, and it froze to death...

So, I was successful with that last batch, but that have been a fluke (and I would like to get more than 1/25 survival rates)

Anyways, since there are some glorious people on this forum, who have experience with regia (some who even got seeds from the same ICPS batch)

I figured I would make a thread documenting my experiences, and perhaps occasionally asking for help...

So, to start out, any recommended mediums? I was thinking milled sphagnum... But are there any other recommendations?

Mucho gracias,

Peat, earl of moss...

:-D

2:1 or 1:1 peat to sand is a dependable alternative . . .

Thanks David! I'll try that as well!