What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Disclaimer: I know the rules of this board. I'm not looking for people to buy from or trade with, I'm simply looking for ideas on plants to grow. I have plenty of places to get them.

That being said: I'm looking ideas on for some new, fun Sundews to grow. I'm a newbie when it comes to growing dews, but have had so much fun growing them this year that I think they're quickly becoming my favorite carnivores to grow. I'm looking to double the overall # of plants I grow (or more) if possible.

But since I'm still a newbie, I want to be fair to the plants and not get some that I don't think I'll be able to handle. So, I'm hoping to find species that don't require dormancy and will do fine in my current terrarium setup (multiple T-8 bulbs, about 4-6 inches from the bulbs). The temperature is around 70-80 degrees. Humidity is at about 40% consistently. As an example, the following guys are thriving under my current conditions (and is my current list of sundews):

D. Capensis - all varieties (Red, narrow, etc)
D. aliciae
D. spatulata
D. binata
D. Intermedia "Cuba"
D. natelensis
D. binata Multifida v. extrema
D. Hamiltonii
D. Venusta

Most of the plants are becoming weeds in my current collection. Many are very colorful and show their appreciation of my current light setup. The capensis and aliciae are actually becoming somewhat of a nuisance because they keep popping up everywhere. I also let them flower and the seeds are starting to take root in some random pots. I mention this, again, to give you an indication of what's working for me.

If anyone has any dews they don't see in the list above that they, personally, love and would recommend; I'd really, really like to hear!

Thanks.