What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Not sure how to plant...

Hi all,

I'm brand new to CPs and tomorrow I'm taking delivery of three Sundews and two VFTs. Now, I want to add them into an existing terrarium I have. The terrarium currently houses some moss, two bromeliads, a tilandsia and some kind of fern. The medium consists of a mixture made of peat moss, vermiculite and some potting soil. I've now had this setup for about 3 months and it is now fairly established with the mosses putting out new growth, the fern doing very well with new leaves and the bromeliads in good health.

I am aware of the fact that the CPs need to be planted in different medium, and for this I am planning on using a peat moss and vermiculite only mixture. Now, what I want to know, is if I can put the CPs in their own containers/pots, and then sink these into the medium in the container, thereby not "contaminating" them with it. This will also allow me to remove the VFTs when they go dormant.

The only watering system I've been using in the tank is an ultrasonic humidifier which fills the tank with cold fog 4 times a day. I also have a ventilation setup on a timer with fresh air circulated through the tank 4 times a day. I use CFLs as growing lights and they work very well.

Think this will work?

Last edited: