What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sad spiralis after repotting

So I already asked about root shock on another forum, but since I'm new to repotting Drosera (except for a D. capensis, which I probably could have stomped on underfoot and still not have set-back), I'm wondering if anyone else has experienced problems with repotting D. spiralis or other SA sundews. I always thought they had hardy roots and weren't sensitive to repotting.

I did struggle a bit to get the roots into the sphagnum moss when I repotted my D. spiralis, since most of the media around the roots fell away. Could that be a source of the leaf die-off?

This photo was taken right after repotting, on the 8th of February.
file.php

This photo was taken yesterday. I want to note that there is a leaf that isn't clearly visible in the photo (it's right behind the newest leaf) which was dying off before repotting, which has now ceased browning. Odd.
file.php

Almost any sundew can experience a loss of leaves and vigor when being repotted. I find it is more the exception to find a plant that has no losses when having the old soil removed from the roots. The vast majority of a plant's root surface area is in root hairs which are almost completely lost when it is bare-rooted. Of course you can remove a plant with an intact root ball and plant it that way in order to avoid transplanting shock.

Thanks for that info on the root hairs, Mark. I plan to simply cut away the pot when I repot my other spiralis, in order to keep the media intact. Currently I'm worried that the last leaf will die off before it recovers.