What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Are these sundew seeds?

• Thread starter devkatie
  • Start date
Big time newbie here. On a whim I decided I wanted to try growing carnivorous plants and I bought on ebay what supposed to be a bag of mixed sundew seeds. Since ordering I've been doing research and am excited to grow them. But then what I received was a bag of seed that all looked the same and seemed larger than sundew seed I see on the web and came with no information. So I know it's might be impossible to tell but do these look like sundew seeds of some kind? Also, could you tell me what varieties are good beginner plants? Thanks.

IMG_20180107_211048185~2.jpg

No, those are not sundew seeds. You have to be very careful what you buy on eBay (and Amazon for that matter) because there are a LOT of fake seed listings.

Big time newbie here. On a whim I decided I wanted to try growing carnivorous plants and I bought on ebay what supposed to be a bag of mixed sundew seeds. Since ordering I've been doing research and am excited to grow them. But then what I received was a bag of seed that all looked the same and seemed larger than sundew seed I see on the web and came with no information. So I know it's might be impossible to tell but do these look like sundew seeds of some kind? Also, could you tell me what varieties are good beginner plants? Thanks.

View attachment 3919

If you want real Sundew seeds, I can give you some Drosera capensis seeds. It's the weed of the carnivorous kingdom. I'll give you some free if you send me an SASE.

Shoot me a PM for my mailing address.

Good growing,
Mike