Likes Likes:  1
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: D. linearis "Michigan"

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

D. linearis "Michigan"

Hi guys, first of all Happy new year!! I have a couple of questions about this located drosera, do you know which is the best substrate for sowing, peat or sand? And for growing season? The second question is because i grow the Dorcas bay as well, and despite they have germinated in peat, in this substrate they have a very slow growth, moved in quarz sand are much faster.
    Thank to all!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You got me curious since I've read about sundews in MI growing in alkaline soils. Here is a link from the U. of Mich herbarium listing D. linearis and locations where it grows. All in calcareous soils. https://michiganflora.net/species.aspx?id=1177

Disclaimer: I have never grown any calcareous growing sundews. I have no first hand experience growing these plants. But I'd lean towards a calcium carbonate containing sand.

BUT, let others on this site that know better than I speak up. I stand correctable.

Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am new to this species having a single tiny dormant plant surrounded by a pot full of seeds. I do wonder from the comment about it growing faster in sand if it wouldn't prefer a more neutral medium than peat, which is what I have mine in.
    - Mark

Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)