What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sorry to ask you here but I am not at my machine to send email to the appropriate folks, hoping they catch it here.

I received some new Drosera unexpectedly that I do not have any (good) experience with and wanted to get some basic info on them if possible. Media to use, pot size and depth, temp ranges, light, etc Thanks..I will list the species below and any info is mucho appreciated.

D. stenopetala
D. regia
D. pauciflora
D. esterhuyseniae
D. roraimae
D. graminifolia
D. arcturi
D. fimbriata

Thanks & Cheers,

well, I can give you a little information, but I have no experience with those species. You'll probably have to wait for Tamlin for better advice. I believe, if you do a search here, Tamlin may have posted on growing stenopetala before.

Arcturi is a temperate, from New Zealand, related to stenopetala, but not requiring as cold of temperatures, and is supposed to be much easier to grow. Both are temperate, and stenopetala needs a very cold dormancy.

Roraimae is South American, highland, I believe the temperature range is around 50-70, but I'm not sure. I assume it will require strong light.

Some of them are quite beautiful. Good luck. Hope you can find better information somewhere.

Soil:

regia-mix of peat/sand (60/40), water via tray method, i keep it on windowsill: about 50ish% humidity.

roraime-south american, soil of peat/LFS/sand (mix being mostly LFS and peat), humdidty: 70%+

Sorry i cant help you on the others. I have heard that stenopeltata is difficult. Good luck-Zach

I have had little personal experience, but this is what I have heard: