What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ok, I'm still a byblis newbie in fact I've only grown liniflora but will try gigantea as soon as I get my seeds....
still when I hadn't even grown this plant yet I worried about growing it from seed and such so I made a short article. Please don't make fun of it. its basically based on personal experience and probably about 20 other people could have written it but still
ok here goes...

Byblis liniflora is known as the most commonly grown species of the byblis family. The reason for this is the fact that the small plant is also the most simple to cultivate not to mention propagate. In fact I would consider it one of the most easy plants to grow from seed. :)
Usually b. liniflora is not sent via mail order as it has virtually no roots and when damaged, the plant will weaken and die. (however it is sometimes successfully shipped). So why do many growers cultivate this plant? Seed is widely available and very simple to get started.

The first thing to keep in mind is the pre-treatment of the seed. That is, if it is fresh, frozen, or old. Some say that fresh seed sprouts best. Others suggest stratification of the seed before sowing. I believe all these treatments work. Old seed works, seed that is years old will still germinate.

If you leave the seeds in the fridge to stratify them, 2 weeks should be sufficient. Leave them in a plastic bag with no moisture. I do not believe this is necessary however, as I had a batch of seed and placed half in the fridge and sowed the other half without special treatment. Both germinated fine.