What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Long fibered sphagnum

I read that D. rotundifolia do well in long-fibered sphagnum. Does that mean it should be pure LFS? It just seemed to me that by itself wouldn't be enough for a plant to grow in. Seems like it should need some sort of dirt. But I'm fairly new to the many different mediums that these plants like.

I have one D. rotundifolia growing in a 50/50 peat/perlite mix now. I have another plant on the way, and after reading this, I was wondering if I should plant this new one in a 50/50 peat/sand mix, or with some LFS mixed in with that, or if pure LFS worked as a growing medium.

Thanks!

- Joel

i dont think it will care. peat is just decomposed spag.

you could try one plant in 50/50 peat/sand and another is pure spag, and see which one grows better.

I grow all my D. rotundifolia in pure milled live sphagnum.  D. rotundifolia is a bog plant, and this is it's natural medium.  I run the moss through a food processor  blender thing and it keeps the moss from heading for almost the entire season.

Actually, I have yet to find a CP that does not appreciate sphagnum as an additive to the mix.

I use milled LFS(I don't have enough live to do what Tamlin does), but seedlings especially seem to enjoy it more than peaty mixes. I have a small food processor, but I am trying to fine the food processor blender thing that Tamlin mentioned.

smile_n_32.gif

Joe