What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Adelea soil

Hi. I'm new to the Discussion Forums.

At the begining of the summer,I got a small pot of Drosera adelea from osh. About a month ago, they outgrew the pot, so I transplanted them to 4 in. pots with a spagnum peat/long fibered spagnum/vermiculite/perlite mix,(Spelling?) and for the past month, I haven't seen much growth in them. Are the pots too big? Is the soil mix wrong? Or is this normal? Thanks.
John

With Adelaes, I've had success with a 1/2 peat and 1/2 sand, as well as 1/2 peat and 1/2 perlite. Right now, I'm experimenting with growing it in just LFS, and I'd say this looks even better.

I don't know if you're mix is good or bad, and I've never added vermiculite to any of my drosera mixes. Perhaps simpler mixes may benefit your plant(s).

On a related note, since I have about 30 plantlets that spawned from my original, I tried experimenting growing them in a variety of lighting conditions, and I've found that Adelaes do best in very shady conditions with humidity. In more light, yes they get nice red coloration, but seem to have shorter life span.

PS - I don't think the pots being too big is a problem, as long as you can keep the medium permanently moist.

Leo

I'd repot them without the vermiculite. Vermiculite will reduce the acidity of the soil.

Vic

</span><table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="3" cellspacing="1"><tr><td>Quote (Leo @ Sep. 25 2002,7:15)</td></tr><tr><td id="QUOTE">PS - I don't think the pots being too big is a problem, as long as you can keep the medium permanently moist.

Leo[/QUOTE]<span id='postcolor'>
ok thanks. I've been leting the soil dry out, so do I keep them on the tray system? With an inch of water or so?

John