What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Utric fungus! Help please:(

Hey there, I find that some watered down chamomile tea helps to get rid of fungus/mold problems with my utricularia (Chamomile has antifungal properties), just make sure you make the tea with distilled/RO water and of course let it cool down. Im not so sure how long the chamomile tea's antifungal properties will last, but I think that the tea should stay good for a couple days.
Just my 2 cents, Im fairly new to growing CPs so hopefully a more experienced grower will chime in :)

huh.. Can you give any information on how you are growing them? Light levels, temperatures, water etc.
I am not so sure it's a fungal problem. It looks like salt(mineral) crusting to me.

under fluorescent light, r.o. water, in my room(on the warmer side right now), they are growing in a 100%peat mix.
I misted it to see if it were salt crusting, so far...so good:)
I'll still keep an eye on it though.

Weird though if it's RO water. Have you had it tested recently? How long have they been in the mix? Perhaps there is also a problem with too much humidity/insufficient airflow causing fungal problems on the surface of the mix?
When I see a pot crashing for some reason it's generally a good idea to remove a small plug into some fresh mix. The U. longifolia you could probably even wash away most of the old mix by dunking it in a cup of water and potting it into fresh mix. If there is something going on like mineral buildup or some fungal problem due to broken down mix or overly wet mix then a nice pot of fresh mix will do a world of good.