What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Went through a search...

But I couldn't find what i was looking for so I thought you guys could help! :D So here's the quick scoop!: I've been talking to a girl for a couple months through email back and forth and she's helped me get through more than a few rough patches. We decided to start dating when I come back and now she's going through a rough patch! So I thought being the helpless romantic that I am, I'd send her a flower. But I want it to LIVE not wilt like cut roses or other cuttings. So I thought an orchid. I'm pretty decent with CP's but Orchids are a whole new ballgame to my knowledge and I did a little research on the web but I trust you guys more!:-O So the species (least I think it's a species) is Phalaenopsis Orchid or "moth" flower from what I've gathered. What I would like is basic care for this plant: things to help it grow, lighting, when to fert or not to fert, humidity, temp the whole nine yards! Thanks for any help I get in advance! It's much appreciated!
PFC Bieber

cool idea!

but im not sure I would start with an Orchid..
unless you know she is REALLY into plants..
just because of the perceieved difficulity of growing orchids..(even though Phals are somewhat easy..but still.."easy" is subjective)

If she likes outdoor gardening, (and if she has a garden (if she lives in an apartment this idea wont work))
but how about something like a pot of Daffodils or Tulips?
after the flowers fade, the bulbs can be planted out in the ground, and they will come up next spring..
meanwhile there isnt daily care of a plant to deal with, like there would be with a more fussy orchid..

I like the idea!
I just think an orchid could be too much trouble for the recipient..