What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

They don't look like n. ampullaria

Hi
smile_h_32.gif

It's my first time growing N. ampullaria from tissue culture which I bought last year.The bottle labelled 'N. ampullaria' with certification paper from one lab. Now those plants grow so well with pitchers on every leaf end.What a problem is all pitchers are cylindrical and the lids are round , no unique character of ampullaria at all.
      Something wrong ? Or they need time to develop ?
      Thanks for your opinion
          Nong
URL=http://www.neofarmthailand.com/index.php?lay=show&ac=article&Id=205119&Ntype=777]Picture[/URL]

AMIRAN7323.jpg

I did a bit of copying and pasting to the address bar and found this picture. I then followed through with the Image tab and more copy & paste. Is this the picture?

that one looks like my anamensis a while ago. no tendrils..

That's crazy, the way the pitchers are attached without tendrils. What's up with that? It's certainly not ampullaria - the lids are totally wrong, and the peristome doesn't have that inward slant to it. It appears to me to have some sort of mutation, like many TC plants. Of course, I suppose it could be an ampullaria, but it's mutation supresses the ampullaria characteristics. Whatever it is, it's a keeper - you could call it "Nepenthes sanstendrilis." I wonder what it would look like if it tried to make an upper pitcher.
Thanks for sharing!
~Joe

Sometimes TC mutations disappear over time. Still, I agree- that looks nothing like ampullaria.

-D. Lybrand

There is very little you can tell from a plant that small recently from TC. There is nothing unusual about the way it looks. It wouldn't suprise me if it started to look like N. ampullaria in 6-12months.

Tony