What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

N. inermis

ludwig777

Neps, Neps, Neps.........
I am new to inermis; are these lowers, intermediates, or uppers? Thanks for your input:
p_inermis_2.jpg

I believe true "uppers" on N. inermis should completely lack a peristome.

My plant looks very similar, but has a small amount of reddish pigmentation, which I'm told indicates it is not the "true" species.
KPG

they look like intermediets to me.

the tendril attachment is on the side so i would say intermediate. only when its right behind the pitcher is when its uppers. color also comes into play but i think with inermis id doesnt matter...

[b said:
Quote[/b] (fc3srx713b @ May 14 2006,10:40)]the tendril attachment is on the side so i would say intermediate. only when its right behind the pitcher is when its uppers.  
Thanks, I never knew that.

I have a very young N. inermis. What conditions does this plant like?

I've only had mine a couple months but it is in highland conditions with frequent overhead watering and doing fine. I did notice not to feed it too many bugs as the pitchers rot easily. Mine catches dozens of gnats on its own so I just leave it alone.

That's a young inermis pitcher. When they get bigger the "uppers" totally lack a peristome. Here's a link to my site so you can check it out.

<a href="http://www.nepenthesaroundthehouse.com/ninerm.htm" target="_blank">N. inermis link
</a>

Joel
Nepenthes Around the House

Joel: I just want to say that I love your site and I use it all the time for Nep info. Thanks for creating it!