What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Nepenthes growth experiment

Hey all,

As some of you may know, I'm still an undergrad
smile_h_32.gif
. Seeing as I love CPs, and I need to do something to kind of "get my name out there" so I can get into med school (haha), I was considering doing an experiment, and subsequently writing a paper on the effect of GA3 on Nepenthes seeds and their subsequent growth rate, as I have recently gotten my hands on a lot of seeds of a certain hybrid. I have done some preliminary "trials" I guess you could say, and have some evidence, though not so definite, yet, to believe that GA3, in high concentrations, can have a rather stark impact on nep growth rate. I plan on continuing this study for about 6-8 months. So far, I haven't seen anything online showing that anyone has done what I am thinking about doing.

My question is, would this be of something of interest to the community, or would I just kind of be wasting my time?

Any feedback appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Ron

even though I haven't personally tried to grow Nepenthes from seed, I would still be interested(as I currently am).

I think it might be of some interest because GA3 is often used in the CP hobby.

Well...I decided I'd go ahead and do it anyway. Like I said, I have some slight, though not totally compelling evidence as to its effect. I love science...if I don't carry through with the experiment, its going to bother me until I do

Good thing I started it the day I first posted about it, huh? haha