What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How tolerant is N. spectabilis and the highland form of N. truncata?

Clint

Stay chooned in for more!
Hi guys. I'm going to splurge since my Bday is coming up, so I thought I'd buy myself something (things... :) ) pretty. I've got my list all made up, but before I order I wanted to check with the more experienced crowd. I'm really confident with lowlanders, but I'm relatively new to highlanders you see. I grow in the basement, and during the hot Georgia summers, the night temperature is 70 degrees on the dot reliably. The day temperatures usually hover between 75 and 78, but at the end of the day the maximum high is 80 degrees on the dot reliably. During the winter, the low is probably 50 or 55 at night, and I haven't grown in the basement long enough to know what the daytime temps will be, but I'll guess mid 70's. 50 or 55 are estimates based on what I feel when I've been down there in the winter, I haven't grown long enough in the basement to measure it. 60 degrees at LEAST but I'm strongly betting 50 or 55. If it's too cool during the day, I'll add a heater easily (but I'm going on a tangent...).

ANYWAY. I've got great light, humidity, and air circulation. Temps sound OK? I know it's not optimum but if it can take it during the summer and not suffer so bad as to not rebound in the fall, I'll forgo this plant and buy something else. I feel like such a newb :)

The N. spectabilis is the North Sumatran clone if that matters.

my truncata HL is slow... but very eays and should do well in many different environments. its supposedly easier than the lowland form. cant comment on spectabilis though...
Alex

JLAP,