What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

First,

Hello.. I have been surfing the Terra forums, for about 6 months now. Im amazed at the library of information you guys have here! Great pics, Great people, Great neps!.
Hopefully i can join the ranks of such prime growers!

Well i finally made an account so here i go.

So...
Currently I'm growing seed grown neps. I have a Truncata, Bical, and Ventricosa. However the Bical was outside during the summer for the increased heat. Well i believe the bical has picked up some insect friends. Ive noticed small Gnat like insects on the LFS and some are actually "eating/damaging" a newly formed leaf. This seems to have spread to the truncata pot also. What is a pesticide or method of pest control that is safe to use with neps?
Ive done a search on the forums but after 10 pages i really haven't turned anything up that i feel safe using.

Again great to be here finally as a contributor and i eagerly await a reply. I really want to rid myself of this problem as fast as possible.

~PiG

I have used Ortho systemic with no probs.

Welcome to TF. There's a Bayer product sold at Home Depot, Lowes, that is for roses that some people use for CP's.

Welcome to TF. There's a Bayer product sold at Home Depot, Lowes, that is for roses that some people use for CP's.

I saw a thread about this product, my only concern was using it on neps. I read a few people used it on other CP's, but none stated direct use with a nep.

Thank you all for this quick info, I gotta get some stuff quick, my bical isnt looking so good:-(

~PiG

anyway we could get a pic?

flying insects could be fungus gnats...i dont know of any other flying pests...they could be aphids. they fly too.