What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Help , I'm new , 1st post

Please help anyone, 2 weeks ago i recieved this Nepenthes Maxima Hybrid in wonderful condition, This is the 1st one for me as I am new to these plants, The sender gave me great tips on soil material and trasnplanting it to bigger pot , which I have done, In my trials , I placed a clear plastic bag over the whole plant as i was thinking this would keep it humid, It is in a hanging pot, placed outside, I live in NY. It set in the sun too long inside the bag and now it has browned pretty bad, as of today the two traps , pitchers have started to wilt, I am trying my best to keep it misted with urea free orchid fertilizer and still am keeping it outside, without bag of course. any input as to the best doctor methods to save this as I feel am loseing it , would hate for this to happen , wonderful plant,... should I keep it inside ?, should I clip off the browned leaves?.. the wilting traps , please Help anyone..
Rich
:-(

Welcome to TF, glad to see another new yorker. I would put it inside near a window. New York weather can get to hot for N. maxima and would receive to much sunlight outside during the summer. I would put it in a south facing window and mist daily. Good luck

Hey Rich,

Welcome to Terraforums! Jason is right, you should put it inside. Maybe even give it some florescent light and mind the temperature.

I would grow it in a terrarium or in a brightly lit window. i also recommend that you lose the plastic bag. the plant needs air circulation, the bag promotes mold and mildew growth.
for some good tips check this site out http://nepenthesaroundthehouse.com