What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Seedlings or Weeds?

I was one of the lucky people who got some N. Splendiana x Mixta seeds from Tropics several weeks ago and I am rather excited because I think I have germination. I don’t want to be too excited and then find out that what I thought was nep seedlings actually are just some ol’ weed since this is my first attempt at growing neps from seeds so I’ve included pics to check and see if some other experienced growers can confirm that this is what young nep seedlings do or do not actually look like.

After staring at my pots for a while I think I can trace each seedling back to a seed case that it emerged from so I am pretty sure these are nep seedlings but before I celebrate I wanted to double check with the experts so I don’t end up pampering weeds like royalty only to be really disappointed.

DSC00597.jpg

DSC00605.jpg

DSC00598.jpg

DSC00600.jpg

Here is a teeny spot of green just starting to bend out of the middle “eye” of the horizontal seed in the middle of the pic (if you really squint).

Seedlings :)
The first two leaves are pitcher-less the next leave will be a small pitcher(pin head).

Yay,
Now I can do my happy dance I have been carefully repressing...
:banana2:

Congrats! They're very cute ;)

CONGRATS on your germination :water: there cute, mine are also poping up, bummer part for me is i cant get my cam to get zooooooomed in close up pics like that... :-( :-(

I had 5 Viking x Raff seeds germinate two months ago, they grow so slow at this stage my biggest one only has 3 leaf pitchers :(

Congrats on the seedlings :D.

now you get to wait and wait and wait... :)