What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Nepenthes ampullaria seeds

Hay all,

I am getting some Nepenthes Ampullaria seeds , the problem is that it is approaching winter.
What should I do?

- Plant them now (temps get from 5 to 10 C (41 to 50 F)
- Put them in the fridge for 5 weeks for stratifying and then plant them (Do they need cold stratifying?)
- Leave them in the bag and put it in the fridge until spring then stratify

This is my first time growing a Nepenthes so any advice would be great

Sow them as soon as possible, they do not need stratifcation and it would probably kill them. They will give you the best results is sown immediately. The time of year has no bearing on their germination. If this is your first experience with neps prepare to be disapointed, they will be very small for several years and will not produce any interesting pitchers for at least 6 months.

I agree with Mr. T sow them right when you get them. I have had little luck with neps seeds. But I wish you luck and let us know how it goes? Whay type of amp seed are you getting?

I would really recommend you get those temps up too... N. amp likes it warm. I think I'd aim for 75-85f somewhere.

Andrew

I would really recommend you get those temps up too... N. amp likes it warm. I think I'd aim for 75-85f somewhere.

It gets over 100f in the summer
(should I cover them over the winter?)

I am getting two different kinds

Nepenthes ampullaria Green
ampullaria.jpg

and
Nepenthes ampullaria Green X ampullaria
(can't find an image)

Thanks for the advice, would planting in pure peatmoss be ok?

Sure, but once they germinate and start growing they will need an airier mix. Like perlite:sand: peat or spaghnum:bark.