What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ephippiata Looking Sad

DrWurm

Californian in DC
http://img194.imageshack.us/img194/7396/20090617p6173982.jpg

As you can see, my N. ephippiata's new leaves are much smaller than the ones it used to make. I repotted it around a month ago, is it just transplant shock? If you look closely, you'll see the new pitchers are somewhat cracked open, but clearly not very developed. This was my first nep, so I'd rather not lose it.

Jason

Let me first start by stating I am not an expert. Now that we got that out of the way....

Sorry to hear that DrWurm. Ephippiata is one of my favorites. I don't know why. I have had one for about 6 months and have had no trouble with mine. It pitchers abundantly and it has actually been one of my easiest growers so far, but I do baby it.

What kind of soil is it in? It looks a litle water logged and/or rotted.

I grow mine with typical highland conditions in a very airy mix of orchid bark and perlite with just a pinch or two of peat. I then have a top coat of LFS. I have had to trim the LFS a few times. I have found that mine likes alot of light. I have it growing under 2 4ft tubes about 10 inches above the plant. I mist the LFS to insure it is moist so it doesn't dry out and give the pot a good watering about once a week.

Here is a pic or two of mine... (haven't figured out embedding yet on this site. Maybe it doesn't allow embedding from my source below?)

http://www.cpukforum.com/forum/uploads/gallery_4230_179_47906.jpg

http://www.cpukforum.com/forum/uploads/gallery_4230_179_13665.jpg