What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New Sibuyanensis! Old Problem

Just got my new Sibuyanensis this week! But I'm affraid it's from the nursery which everyone has been bashing lately.

I'm surprised at the size of the plant, larger than promised, but not sure about the hitchhikers which may have followed. This plant seems to have heavy red spots under most of the leaves. The tops are almost untouched. I know that this species is prone to nectar spotting, but those stains are usually black, I think. Since I'm new to Nepenthes I want to put this out there.

Before I jump on the spider-mite bandwagon, what do think is causing the spotting??

4553373825_c14088d751_b.jpg

4553373509_e00c67ea79_b.jpg

meh. its similar but it doesnt look like spider mites to me. the black oval spots are nectar glands. it looks more like rust than mites. check closer and look for webbing or rub the underside of the leaf and check to see if you picked up anything off the leaves(brown specks mainly). if so then you have mites. treat with a systemic pesticide.

Alex

I've dealt with spider mites, and I don't think that's what caused those spots. But, I don't know what it is for certain.

Oy, mate this is an excellent buy and you got lucky to get it in this condition, maybe they've been listening? I was going to buy this plant, but i opted for my N Spectabilis Pangulubao instead! You should consider preemptively spraying, sometimes they like to hide in the soil for a while but I have some good plants from that nursery, and I have some bad ones. N. Sibuya is one of my favorite plants. The vendor specifically sent me an e-mail regarding a different matter but concerning this plant.