What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hello! I'm brand new to carnivorous plants and rapidly becoming obsessed with Nepenthes. I've already ordered a copy of Savage Garden, expected to arrive sometime next week, and have been reading online all week.

Anyway, I'm working on researching some intial Nepenthes plants to start my collection (haven't ordered anything yet) and could use some good advice. Here's my situation...

I live in Atlanta, GA (Zone 8). I'm willing to keep the plants in several locations, but I expect that initially they'd have to be indoors since it's winter and can get quite cold outdoors. My locations are:

1. On a covered and screen part of the deck behind the house, facing NNW.
2. Same deck, but on the open portion that is not covered or screened. More room and light than #1.
3. Under the deck, on a concrete patio area. This offers the largest amount of space in a single area.
4. Inside the house, where it may be too dry and the temp is generally in the high 60's to mid 70's depending on time of year. I could potentially set up a terrarium if needed.
5. In the basement, where it is less climate-controlled. We have sort of a garage storage room that doesn't get heated/cooled.

Then, presumably I'd take the plants indoors during the cold part of the winter no matter which location they usually lived in. Also, I work from home so it should be fairly easy to mist the plants during the day. So, which location sounds like it would work best? Highland or Lowland? Anything else you need to know?

I am willing to consider a small inexpensive greenhouse along the lines of something like this or maybe slightly larger. If it was larger though it would have to go under the deck: