What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Live LFS as a Top Layer

Vbkid

Getting There...
I have a relatively basic question about LFS as a top layer in my Nepenthes pots. I've been growing just a couple Neps (ventratas) for about 6 months, and they have a top layer of LFS. They are groing in houseplant conditions and doing very well as far as I can tell...pitchering, increasing in size, etc. Unfortunately, I can't seem to encourage the LFS to do quite as well. Both plants have some live spagh on the top, but most is dead, and even the live pieces have blackened ends.
Question: What do I need to do to encourage healthier growth of it so it looks more presentable and possibly means better growing conditions for the Neps. I use distilled water, have the pots on sunny windowsills, and mist daily (although I do miss a day pretty often).
Thanks,
Kyle

Your humidity is probably too low to gow LFS at a top dressing. To grow LFS in a non humid environment, it needs to be kept waterlogged.....and you can't do that with a nep in the pot.

Exo is 100% right.. as always.
Increase the humidity to 85%+ and your moss will start growing. Dead or alive, doesn't matter. It only takes humidity to get it growing. I've got some moss that's almost 2" tall with next to no light, just 100% humidity.

Exo is 100% right.. as always.
Increase the humidity to 85%+ and your moss will start growing. Dead or alive, doesn't matter. It only takes humidity to get it growing. I've got some moss that's almost 2" tall with next to no light, just 100% humidity.

I actually find that the moss will grow in 75% humidity....it needs to be misted everyday though. 80% and up and is better though.