What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

roots from stem?

Ok, so I've been growing Nepenthes for a while now, but every time I repot, I never stick any of the brown stem beneath the surface. So I have nice green growth hovering on top of a brown stem. If I repot them and put the stem under soil, will it sprout roots so i can then trim off the old roots and have a low growing plant again? Thanks

Last edited by a moderator:
You mean to tell me no one knows?
:0o:

When i got my rajah's like this in august i put the whole stem under the soil, they are still alive but i have no clue if there are new roots higher up.

I was hesitant to answer, because I'm not really an expert, but here goes. I think that, while they definitely can produce roots from the stem, they usually don't. Unlike plants such as tomatoes, which produce copious root nodes from any part of the stem that senses moisture or darkness, Nepenthes mostly grow new roots from tissue underneath the outer "bark" layer. (I've also been told that the side nodes just above each leaf can turn into roots, but I haven't seen a lot of research or anecdotal evidence to support that.) So, I imagine that growing new roots spontaneously is pretty rare. Many growers recommend shaving the outer layer off, or cutting shallow, vertical slits into it, when making cuttings in order to encourage the formation of new roots.