What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Newbie looking for some advice

Well I am sure everyone loves these questions....but unfortunately I am having a heck of a time finding solid info. for specifically what I am wanting to do. As the title says I am new to nepenthes but find them incredibly intriguing. I have learned from many years of doing saltwater tanks, if you dont know what your doing something is going to die. So here is what I got. I want to know if there is something simple to start off with. I do not want to get into a terrarium unless I fall in love with these guys. I have a nice big porch window that is sufficient enough for me to grow orchids. We keep our apartment around 72ish degrees but I dont know the temp. at the window (night or day but im guessing theres a change?). My orchids are on a table I made that act like a humidity tray of sorts which is where I would like to place some nepenthes. What are my options? Are they out of my league. I am not an experienced grower but I have yet to kill a plant and would love a new addition to my collection. I have read the N. ventricolas and N. sangurea (assuming I spelled them correctly) are beginners would I have success with something like theses?

Thanks

>zdawgnight

You pretty much have it down as far as I can tell. Try a local Lowe's, you may be able to find the Nepenthes you're looking for. If you'd like to support this forum, you can order plants from Andrew (owner of TerraForums) here: http://www.flytrapshop.com/servlet/the-Nepenthes/Categories

You've picked some very good starter species! Congrats on researching those beforehand.