What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Compact growing Neps

pappydew

I hate bugs. Carnivorous plants get me.
I'm looking for species that don't get too big or at least do not vine out of control.

Conditions are around 70-80F during the day and drop a bit at night then. Not really strict HL or LL I guess? My ventricosa does well if that helps give an idea.

Anyways, I don't have much space at the moment so even super slow growers would work. Gotta be somewhat forgiving as well, I'm a Nep newb. Thanks for any and all suggestions!

Hi. I love the tiny, mighty giants of the nep world myself. Unfortunatly the big, or is that tiny, three; diatas, glabrata and argentii are all slightly fussy and for me at least grow best in a true HL envirment.

I'd suggest looking into the mini or dwarf variations of N. maxima. Although normally a larger growing nep some of the smaller ones would fit your conditions nicely. I'm currently growing a 'lake poso' varity along side my ventricosa on a humidity tray on my orchid racks. ( small disclaimer..my humidity tray is 12 square feet) I know of at least three of these smaller varities, an internet search may reveal even more.

I was curious about the N. maxima "Watutau Dwarf" actually...what are some others?

I was curious about the N. maxima "Watutau Dwarf" actually...what are some others?

'lake poso' and 'napu valley'. I'm sure there may be more. I'd like a 'watutua dwarf' myself as I've read it's smaller than 'lake poso'. I've been watching the "mini" N. maxima's for sale on various sites and auctions and noticed that many do not have the specific variation listed, just the word mini. I'd be wary of those and go with a seller, private or not, that you can trust.