What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

net pots

C

cps4lif

I am about to repot some of my plants that have outgrown the 3 inch pots they originally came in. I have quite a few larger net pots I was considering repotting them into to increase drainage and aeration. Does anybody do this? If so could you share with me a good soil mix that you use in this type of application? Could you include helpful tips (if any)? Thank you very much in advance for your time and replies.

I'm not a nepenthes pro so take this with a grain of salt but I have a couple of nepenthes in 8 inch net pots in 100% live sphagnum moss.

I use net pots, but in 2 different ways for 2 different kinds of neps.

1. I use a chunky mix that holds moisture and can sustain a live LFS top layer. Used for HL's and UHL's. Tend to get ferns growing out the sides of the pots though. Their roots SMOTHER the neps to death.
The mix is orchid (fir) bark, dead and live LFS, perlite, lava rock, and charcoal.. with a live LFS top layer.

2. I use an extremely chunky mix that tends to dry out faster. Same ingredients, just less LFS, and no live topping. This is used for LL's and a couple intermediates, like N. northiana and veitchii/veitchii HL. All seem to love their current airy net pot.
~ N. veitchii HL is in this chunky mix with no live topper, but in cooler conditions. Just FYI..

Last edited: