What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

N00b questions! Don't laugh...

So I am very new to this hobby... I have a few questions...

1) How do I re-pot a Nep? Do I re-pot like a normal plant or do I just fill a pot with some substrate and set it on top?

2) I plan on watering every other day since I live in such a dry climate, but do I leave a saucer underneath the pot so water can be sucked through the drainage holes? How much do I water AND do I have to mist it? I have a humidifier in my room... is that enough? Also, Do I need to put water in the pitchers???

3) I am going to keep some Highland species in my window (faces southwest) where my cacti used to be, is it ok? It gets plenty of light!
5f04ec6b.jpg

Chase,
Do the temperatures in that window area meet the requirements for highland Nepenthes? Thats an important issue to settle before you start acquiring plants.

Ehm, if you don't have at least 60-70% humidity or the climate to provide a temperature swing, then you may need a terrarium. Highlanders need at least like 10F temp swings (I think its 10F, IDK, that's really general though) from day to night because they have to stop growth at night and then continue when it warms up in the day... Most highlanders do well with days in the 70s and nights in the 50s, but they can survive with nights in the 60s, mine did in the terrarium for a few months with no issues.