What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hi,

I'm a newer member on this forum, and I'm pretty new to carnivorous plants. I have a pretty small collection, but I am hoping to expand it. Today I am going to order the following Nepenthes:

N. fusca
N. spathulata x glaba
N. truncata

My current Nep experience only includes N. 'Ventrata' and N. ampullaria. The ventrata is pretty successful; it lost most of its pitchers but it's starting to form new ones. I divided it up and both halves are producing basals. I also have 3 or 4 rooted cuttings from the plant. The ventratas sit on my grow rack in a very sunny window with 3-4 hours of bright direct sunlight and several hours of filtered per day. I suspect that the plant is less successful just because of the winter sunlight. It really only started losing pitchers in mid-October when the days were really getting short.

The amp is much more successful. It grows somewhat slowly in the terrarium (under 2 26W CFL bulbs) but it continues to grow and put out new pitchers. Its most recent pitcher is about twice the size of the last one and it's working on a new one currently. I really love that plant.

Anyhoo, I would really appreciate some general advice on the species I listed. I have done some research, but I always appreciate personal advice, too.

Thanks for helping out a newcomer!

Question: