What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Beginner Nepenthes

Morpheus

CP Newbie
Hey all! As some of you know I have very little experience in growing carnivorous plants. I only know the basics and as of now I only have a few sarrs, dews, and a fly trap. I've recently be gaining interest in the nepenthes genus of carnivorous plants. I don't know if someone with my experience should attemp to grow these or not and if so what would be some good starters? I've heard that N ventricosa is a great beginner plant because it can handle abuse well but I'm not sure.

the easiest for me here have been alata, sanguinea, ventricosa and miranda

I abused my n. ventrata (alata x ventriosa) a ton when I first started growing nepenthes but it's still going (vigorously may I add) and starting to vine. I'd say you can't go wrong with that, although the ones cody just mentioned are, in my opinion better looking.

My first two Nepenthes were a Jacquelinea and a SpectabilisXAristochoiloides. Everything after that, are medium to hard to grow Nepenthes which I have not found to be as finicky as most report. When I receive my first two plants, I tossed them outside in the sun and they took the abuse quiet well. Although, some amputation may be necessary if they get sun burnt. If you can satisfy 3 of their requirements then they will, for the most part, be happy: media, water, light, temperature, and humidity. Each spp has its own idiosyncracies, and every clone it peculiarities. If something is not to its liking, you can be damn sure, it will let you know.